Header image

Sietse Dijt wins National Chemistry Olympiad 2018

18 June 2018
Sietse Dijt (18) of Eelde, a sixth form pre-university student at the Maartens College in Haren (Groningen), proved the strongest of the 19 finalists in the Netherlands’ National Chemistry Olympiad 2018 and was acclaimed the winner of the 39th edition. The NSO was this year held in the Cosun innovation center in Dinteloord from 7 to 14 June. The Olympiad offered the top chemistry students from secondary schools across the country an opportunity to sample the atmosphere of the agrifood sector and work in a professional setting at Royal Cosun.

The National Chemistry Olympiad is an annual event for all students of chemistry in senior general secondary education and pre-university education in the Netherlands. Some 5,000 pupils took part in the preliminary rounds. The 20 best went through to the Dutch final. The top four will now represent the Netherlands in the International Chemistry Olympiad to be held in Prague and Bratislava from 19 to 29 July. The Dutch entrants are: 1st Sietse Dijt (Maartens College, Haren), 2nd Mees Hendriks (Stedelijk Gymnasium, Leiden), 3rd Daan Hoogers (Stedelijk Gymnasium, Breda) and 4th Marieke Visscher (Trinitas Gymnasium, Almere). They will face the winners of the national finals held in some 75 countries.

The prizes were awarded by Jan-Pieter Blaauwhoed and Arno Pouls of Cosun R&D. They wished the Dutch team and Emiel de Kleijn, chairman of the National Chemistry Olympiad Committee, every success in the international competition against top chemistry students from all four corners of the world. Onno de Vreede of the Association of the Dutch Chemical Industry (VNCI) handed the VNCI Kanjer Award to the top four chemists and the VNCI Practical Award to Renske Wierda of the Bernardinus College in Heerlen.

The award ceremony was closed with the handing over of the Olympiad Baton to the host of the NSO 2019, Piet Buwalda of Avebe. Avebe is a cooperative of starch potato growers focusing on the market.